John R Murphy Award

John R Murphy Award

This award may be presented to a member of the Indianapolis Section of the American Society for Quality in recognition for their scientific or technological contribution to the Section or quality profession.

This award is to be made only upon unanimous approval of the Executive Committee of the Indianapolis Section and is ordinarily awarded at the award meeting, or may be awarded on a special occasion. The award is to be made in the form of a plaque.

This award is in honor of John R. Murphy, Section Director since 1991, Chair of the Indianapolis Section during 1989-1990, and a PhD statistician at Eli Lilly & Co who retired in 2002. John continues to be an active member of the Section as an ASQ Fellow, continuing as Director, Historian, teaching Section courses with statistical content, and sharing his experience as a scientist in the pharmaceutical industry.

Murphy Award Winners

2015 Harry Rowe
2013 Joe Lucas
2004-2005 Richard Van Doel
2002-2003 Dr Leslie Gardner
2001-2002 Joseph Lucas